Stop putting it off!

I have a habit of putting of films that I actually really want to see. It tends to happen with smaller, weirder films. I read about them, decide that the concept is fascinating or that the cast makes it worth checking out and then promptly forget about them.

Having read this post I’ve decided that a good way to resolve my issue would be to make my own, slightly less ambitious list. I’ve decided to start with ten films that I’ve been putting off. If I succeed in watching them all, say over the next couple of months, I’ll do a do the same again.

So, here we are – my top ten films that I’ve been putting off.

1. 9
An odd animated film, produced by Tim Burton and featuring the voices of some pretty cool people, including John C Reilly and Crispin Glover.

2. 10 items or less
Released in only 15 cinemas and starring Morgan Freeman as himself, this film received mixed reviews, but I’m still intrigued to see what it’s like.

3. Black Swan
I know this film is going to be an intense experience and that’s probably why I’ve been avoiding it. I’ve been a fan of Darren Aronofsky since the start. It just always takes me a while to watch his latest release…

4. Dead Snow
Zombie Nazis. That’s gotta be awesome, right?

5. Howl
I know very little about the Allen Ginsburg, the 20th century poet and subject of this film, but he is played by James Franco, and I love the Franco. I’ve been following his career since Freaks and Geeks, and I’ll always check out his latest movie.

6. Tales from Earthsea
A fantasy film from Studio Ghibli in Japan. Based upon a much loved book that I’ve never read.

7. Never Let Me Go
An adaption of the harrowing Kazuo Ishiguro book, which appears to be set in a boarding school, but where nothing is what it seems. The less you know about the plot the better. Make no mistake though, the evening when I watch this will not be fun or particularly uplifting.

8. The Hole
A horror film for kids that harks back to 80s kids classics and directed by Joe Dante, no less. It didn’t get great reviews, but the director of Gremlins and Innerspace deserves the benefit of doubt.

9. The Last Picture Show
The Peter Bogdanovich classic has somehow passed me by for many years. I’m excited to have a classic of this era to watch and to see one of Jeff Bridges’ earliest roles.

10. The Dead Zone
An adaption of a Stephen King novel. I was a big fan of the TV show of the same name (that went down hill rapidly in its later series), and this movie has Christopher Walken in a lead role, so should be worth the time.

2 responses to “Stop putting it off!

Leave a Reply

